440 Gallery | Brooklyn NY

Shop talk, answers to your FAQs, and a peek behind the scenes of an artist-run fine art gallery in Park Slope

David Stock: Finding Drama, Humor, and Pathos in the Everyday World

My parents gave me a camera when I was 14, and I was immediately hooked. I loved the way the camera could select and isolate a particular moment and place. I got the feeling that this might allow me to express something personal. Soon afterwards, I discovered that there was a whole world of artists who were photographers. I began to study their work intensively, scouring photo books, museums and galleries.

Time Warner

I remember being stunned by my first view of a large Ansel Adams print at the Museum of Modern Art—it was “Moonrise Over Hernandez, New Mexico.” I couldn’t stop looking at it. I was also influenced by Aaron Siskind, the great modernist photographer, in the 1970s. He not only encouraged and inspired me, but he helped me to start exhibiting and selling work.

When I photograph, I’m in a special receptive state. I can usually just walk out the door and find images, but I explore all over the place. Sometimes I return to areas that have been especially productive for me, or I find new subjects while traveling.

reversegaze

My favorite photographs reflect my emotions, worldview and personality. There are many ways to work towards this goal, ranging from direct observation to visual metaphor to formal abstraction. When I’m photographing, I try to see everything: patterns, color, people, cultural symbols, light, etc. When I decide to take a picture, it’s because some of those elements come together in a way that resonates for me. The decision is intuitive, but it’s also based on previous experience.

agavepaint

Composition within a “frame” is essential to photography. Like a painter, I take full responsibility for what’s in the picture space; I want the photograph to be intentional, irreducible and self-contained. Usually my sense of composition is pretty formal. I try to make my photographs iconic, clear and precise.  I’m interested in cultural iconography and the interpenetration of ugliness and beauty.

trashpond

I’m also interested in the relationship between society and the natural world. I like to explore how things clash and combine in the dense layers of the city.

crawl

Humor is an important part of my work, although it’s sometimes linked to other emotions, including disgust or a sense of tragedy. I love photography’s ability to surprise. When I’m photographing, I’m sensitive to certain kinds of drama, metaphor and implied narratives that occur in the visual environment. Sometimes these things are easily overlooked in everyday life—they are literally hidden in plain sight. The process of uncovering them lends itself to humor, as well as other emotions.

fallen

I’m a dedicated printmaker. An image may succeed or fail based on how it gets interpreted onto paper. I spend many hours crafting digital files and making proofs and final prints, just like I used to spend many hours in the darkroom.  I see my photography as a craft as well as an art.

10 comments on “David Stock: Finding Drama, Humor, and Pathos in the Everyday World

  1. Jo-Ann Acey
    June 17, 2018

    Great!

    Like

  2. Jo-Ann Acey
    June 17, 2018

    Great article!

    Like

  3. Joy Makon
    June 18, 2018

    “The decision is intuitive, but it’s also based on previous experience.” It’s interesting to read about your process and thinking, gives more insight into this thoughtful collection of work.–Joy

    Like

  4. Ellen Azorin
    June 19, 2018

    Beautiful work, as well as fascinating and illuminating commentary.

    Like

  5. Kayoko
    June 20, 2018

    Great reading about the craft and art of photography. I enjoyed reading about the whole process that is involved.

    It is so true — “Sometimes these things are easily overlooked in everyday life—they are literally hidden in plain sight.” And they come to life with the talent of the photographer, and we, the audience, has the pleasure of enjoying them.

    Like

  6. Doug Tsuruoka
    June 20, 2018

    Great shots David.

    Doug Tsuruoka

    Like

  7. Norma Sax
    June 20, 2018

    Read your description of your artistic process and found it personal and informative. Sorry I missed the opening and meeting up with the both of you. Norma

    Like

  8. Alan Sobel
    June 22, 2018

    Thanks for sending me your interesting comments and your fine photography.

    AlanSobel

    Like

  9. Diane Rode
    July 2, 2018

    I love this work! Great piece on the process! Diane Rode

    Like

  10. Janet Pedersen
    July 3, 2018

    Your photos above are quirky and humorous and beautiful. Some of your thinking I too think about when I begin a painting… thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2018 by in art, Artist news, Collecting, From our studios, What's up @ 440 and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7,368 other subscribers